Gene Center Munich

Breadcrumb Navigation


Bayer Foundation: Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker Award 2022

Antje Boetius is the first awardee! The award honors her commitment to enhancing the impact of science for the benefit of society


BayerFoundationELWAward2022Professor Dr. Antje Boetius, Alfred-Wegener-Institute, Bremerhaven, is the first winner of this newly established prize. The award recognizes her outstanding public engagement, policy advice and science communication in a broad range of themes, especially on the impacts of climate change, biodiversity losses, and ocean health. In 2021, the prize was established in honor of the 80th birthday of the biochemist Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, the Gene Center founding director, to honor his contributions to the dialogue between science and society. The award winner was celebrated at Bayer Foundation’s 2022 Science Award ceremony on the 30th of January 2023 in Leverkusen.


FLTR: Patrick Cramer, Jeanne Rubner, Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Antje Boetius, Sarena Lin

Bayer Foundations: Announcement of winners 2022

Bayer Foundation: Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker Award