Gene Center Munich

Breadcrumb Navigation

Prof. Dr. A. Jeyaprakash Arulanandam (JP)

Prof. Dr. A. Jeyaprakash Arulanandam (JP)



JP's ERC-funded lab has started at the Gene Center on 1st March, 2023.

Gene Center and Department of Biochemistry
Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München
Feyodor-Lynen Straße 25
81377 Munich
Room: A4.68
Phone: +49 (0)89 2180 76962
Website: JP lab, Gene Center Munich

He will also continue to run his lab at the University of Edinburgh:

Personal Chair of Structural Cell Biology
Co-Head, Institute of Cell Biology
Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology
University of Edinburgh
Michael Swann Building (S5.18)
Max Born Crescent
Edinburgh EH9 3BF
Tel: +44 131 6507113

Room: A 4.68
Phone: 49 (0)89 2180 76962

Website: Arulanandam (JP) Lab - Structural Biology of Cell Division

Work group


Scientific Vita

started March 1, 2023 Guest Professor Gene Center & Department of Biochemistry, LMU München
since 2022
Professor (Personal Chair) of Structural Cell Biology Institute of Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK
since 2022 Co-Head Institute of Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK
2017-2022 Wellcome Career Development Senior Research Fellow Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK
2012-2016 Wellcome Career Development Fellow Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, UK
2007-2011 Postdoctoral Researcher

Department of Structural Cell Biology, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
2007-2011 Marie Curie Incoming International Fellow EMBL – Heidelberg, Germany
2004-2005 Alexander von Humboldt Fellow EMBL – Heidelberg, Germany

Awards and Honor

  • 2023 – 2028 ERC Advanced Grant
  • 2017 – 2022 Wellcome Senior Research Fellowship
  • 2013 - 2016 Wellcome Trust Enhancement Grant
  • 2013 – 2017 Marie-Curie Career Integration Grant
  • 2012 – 2016 Wellcome Career Development Fellowship
  • 2008 Max-Planck Institute of Biochemistry Junior Research Award for Outstanding Research in Biochemistry and Structural Biology
  • 2005 – 2007 Marie Curie Incoming International Fellowship (European Commission)
  • 2004 – 2005 Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship
  • 2004 EMBO World Programme Fellowhip (declined)
  • 2002 IUPAB Travel Fellow
  • 1998 ‘Einstein Award‘ from the American College, Madurai, India